On Passion for Appliances

When was the last time you were excited about your toaster? Or your microwave? Or how about your vacuum cleaner?

Having lived with electric appliances all my life, they don’t inspire any excitement or passion when I contemplate them. They are conveniences. Tools. As long as they work and save me time, fine. But I’m not going to get starry eyed and chat with my friends about how great my microwave is.

Ditto for computers. (And cell phones, MP3 players, Blackberry’s, hand-held video games, …)

Having used computers all my life, I’m as indifferent to them as I am toward my toaster.

Here at Microsoft, the drones are supposed to show passion for computers and for technology. Even when they are poorly designed and make life a living hell.

Me? I just can’t seem to muster any passion for an operating system (having used dozens). Or for a programming language (having used dozens). Or for a word processor (…).

It’s hard to feel passion for an appliance. And it’s even harder to mask indifference as passion.

Maybe that’s why I don’t bother to try.

Leave a Reply

